When One Teaches, Two Learn

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Teaching Books of the Bible: Part 1

on September 5, 2012

I mentioned yesterday that I believe that learning the books of the Bible is a key first step in teaching children how to find passages on their own.  I learned my books of the Bible using songs – probably Donut Man songs or something like that – but I have been trying to brainstorm a variety of ways to teach this particular skill.  I remember growing up that my mom had a set of cassette tapes (old school, I know) that had a different book of the Bible on each spine.  They were even color coded according to section (Books of Poetry, Major Prophets, Minor Prophets, etc.).  She would mix them up and allow her students to rearrange the books into the correct order.  I’ve tried doing something similar with the books of the Bible written on the lips of cups that are then stacked in order and have even recently found these coloring sheets at Kids Bible Worksheets.com (You can access the full set at http://www.kidsbibleworksheets.com/books-of-the-bible-coloring-page.htm)

http://www.kidsbibleworksheets.com/genesis-bible-coloring-page.htm

http://www.kidsbibleworksheets.com/1-peter-bible-coloring-page.htm

I was thinking that the kids could work on coloring these as we learn different sections of the books of the Bible and then we could hang them up on the wall.  Still toying with that idea, though.  What are your thoughts?  Have you taught the books of the Bible before?  Any creative ideas to offer?

3 responses to “Teaching Books of the Bible: Part 1

  1. […] I wrote not too long ago about my thoughts on teaching the books of the Bible.  I wanted to start working on this particular skill sooner rather than later, so we started […]

  2. Barbara Davis says:

    I’ve seen where they make puzzles out of pictures using Popsicle sticks, so I thought I would try a print out of the Bible books, then cut and have them arrange in order. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

BLOG

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Tools for Kids Church - Ideas

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

The Ministry Mama

Living as a Ministry Wife and Mama

MINISTRY-TO-CHILDREN

Free help for your children's ministry

Whats in the Bible

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

samluce.com

Leadership, Family Ministry, and Theology.

Kidmin360

Helping Churches Create Healthy Children's Ministry

[Kid Inspiration]

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Matt McKee

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

