When One Teaches, Two Learn

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

We’re Ready for J.A.M. Time!

on September 7, 2012

The past few weeks have been spent preparing our children’s wing for J.A.M. Time and all the other fall programs that will be starting this Sunday.  It has been a blast to make the space more colorful and inviting for the kids!  Can you tell I’m excited??

Let’s start off with the stairway.  Our J.A.M. Time curriculum for the fall is divided up into three adventures and the company provided a poster for each, so I hung those in the hallway.  Start the excitement early!

 

At the top of the stairs, I posted a welcome and a color-coded map of the children’s wing to make things a little easier to find.

 

We also have a bulletin board in the stairway.  I found the idea for this bulletin board on Pinterest and LOVED it!  On Sunday we will write the kids’ names on the puzzle pieces.

 

Keeping parents informed is a priority of mine, so I hung this Parent Connect bulletin board in the hallway.  For now, it just has the September edition of the Fillmore Kids Newsletter, but I plan on changing it up throughout the year.

 

I decided to use some of the blank wall space in the hallway to show off what the kids are doing.  This space will be used to post pictures and information about the kids’ service projects.  There’s another display on the opposite wall where I posted pictures of our infants and toddlers at play.  Side note:  This is a 3D border!  I didn’t even know that they existed until I opened up the package and realized that the border was perforated.  I wasn’t sure I would like it, but it looks great once it’s up.

 

One of our church members graciously donated several framed pieces of artwork to our children’s ministry.  This is my favorite of the collection because I feel it is a more accurate representation of Jesus.  He actually looks Middle Eastern!

 

This is a shot of the Blue Group’s room, featuring new curtains and my favorite set of posters ever published!  The blank space on the right wall will be filled with the “All About Me” posters the kids will complete on Sunday.

 

Each classroom has a designated prayer wall.  I’m really excited about this addition to our children’s ministry!  The kids can post their prayer requests on the prayer wall and use it as a reminder each week to continue to pray.  They can take the prayer requests off the prayer wall as the prayers are answered.

 

I was stumped as to how to decorate the Green Group’s room until I remembered that I had these poster board frogs leftover from the F.R.O.G. Festival earlier this summer.  Easy and fun solution!

 

I also added a few updates to our nursery area.  This wall used to be blank and bland, but I scored this barnyard animal set at a teacher store in Dallas and knew it would be perfect for the space.  I couldn’t be happier with it!

 

I also organized the shelves under the changing table.  Ah, the organization makes my heart go pitter-patter!

 

These are just a few of the updates that I’ve made to our space this year, but I hope that it will help the kids to enjoy it all the more!  What do you do to make your space inviting for kids?

6 responses to “We’re Ready for J.A.M. Time!

  1. Kim Lawson says:

    You are so awesome! I love your excitement and I know the kids and families of FWC are going to love everything you are doing!!! We are blessed to have you!!

  2. Thanks, Kim! I’m so excited to see what God’s going to do in the hearts of the kids this year =)

  3. […] few weeks ago, I posted about our J.A.M. Time decor and mentioned that this space would be used to post information about the kids’ service […]

  4. What does J.A.M. stand for?

  5. janet says:

    where did you find the materials for your poster on easter journey?

Leave a Reply

BLOG

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Tools for Kids Church - Ideas

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

The Ministry Mama

Living as a Ministry Wife and Mama

MINISTRY-TO-CHILDREN

Free help for your children's ministry

Whats in the Bible

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

samluce.com

Leadership, Family Ministry, and Theology.

Kidmin360

Helping Churches Create Healthy Children's Ministry

[Kid Inspiration]

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Matt McKee

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

