When One Teaches, Two Learn

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Top 5 Reasons Why I’m Bummed that I Can’t Go to KidMin 2012

on September 21, 2012

Have you heard of Group’s KidMin Conference?  It runs from September 28 to October 1 in Chicago and, if you’ve seen any of the advertisements or information on it, you know that it’s looking like an AMAZING conference.  I’m not able to go this year, which is a bummer, but it’s an even bigger bummer when I keep getting blog updates from other children’s ministry leaders about their top reasons why they’re so amped to go!  So, I’ve decided to cope with my disappointment by giving you my top five reasons why I’m bummed that I can’t go to KidMin.

Amazing General Sessions: KidMin has some great speakers lined up for their general sessions, including Beth Moore!  The sessions are supposed to be engaging, dynamic, passion-filled, and  Jesus-centered.  To top it off, they’re giving out freebies.  Goodie bags.  SWAG.  Except it isn’t really SWAG, because it isn’t stuff-we-all-get if we all (i.e. those who can’t go) don’t get it, but whatever.  The point is that they’re giving out free resources for personal development and ministry enhancement.

The Skit Guys:  If you haven’t seen the Skit Guys perform, you are definitely missing out.  I saw them at LIFE 2007 and LIFE 2011 (National youth conferences for the Christian & Missionary Alliance) and they’re definitely a favorite.  Their engaging and poignant skits provide for more than a few laughs and usually some “meat” to chew on.  Look them up on Youtube and you’ll get a taste of how great they are!

Gungor: Gungor.  GUNGOR, people!  I love their sound and their honesty that shines through in their lyrics.  They’re Grammy nominated and altogether amazing (“Beautiful Things,” anyone?).  I would love to be able to hear them live!

Connect Groups:  KidMin has set up several connect groups for children’s ministry workers to connect with others in similar situations to theirs.  There are 21 different groups to choose from and, though I wish I could be at the conference, I’m kind of glad I don’t have to choose among the First-Two-Years-in-Children’s-Ministry, Rural Children’s Ministry, Small Church Children’s Ministry, and Women in Children’s Ministry groups, because I don’t know which one I would choose!

Workshops:  KidMin has workshops in spades.  Jonathan Cliff, who writes one of the blogs I follow, is doing one called “Building Teams: Volunteer Leadership” that looks really good, but there are tons of other great topics from Ministry to Babies and Toddlers to Making Church Irresistible to Kids, 12 Steps to Surviving Your First 2 Years in Ministry to Teaching Jesus in the Entire Bible, and more.

Are you going to KidMin?  What are you most looking forward to?  And, when you get back from the conference, PLEASE feel free to pass along the wealth of information I’m sure you will gain!

Leave a Reply

BLOG

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Tools for Kids Church - Ideas

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

The Ministry Mama

Living as a Ministry Wife and Mama

MINISTRY-TO-CHILDREN

Free help for your childrens ministry

Whats in the Bible

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

samluce.com

Leadership, Family Ministry, and Theology.

Kidmin360

Helping Churches Create Healthy Children's Ministry

[Kid Inspiration]

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Matt McKee

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

