When One Teaches, Two Learn

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

The Pumpkin Prayer

on September 25, 2012

Fall is here!  The weather is cooling off and our Harvest Bash planning meeting last night was filled with talk of cider, caramel apples, hayrides, and more.  The pumpkins are popping up for sale on the side of the road and I’m pulling out an army of fall recipes to warm up the house on cool days.  I wish that fall could last longer, but while it’s here, I plan to enjoy every minute of it.

 

This is the view off of the porch of our apartment.  We’re just starting to see touches of color in the trees.  I’m thrilled to have such a great view to watch the leaves at peak color this fall!

As I was preparing the October edition of the Fillmore Kids newsletter, I stumbled across a magazine clipping that I had cut out several weeks ago.  I love integrating faith into activities that we see as commonplace, which is why The Pumpkin Prayer caught my eye.  Enjoy!

The Pumpkin Prayer

Dear Jesus, as I carve my pumpkin, help me pray this prayer:

Open my mind so I can learn about you (Cut the top off the pumpkin).

Take all my sin and forgive the wrong that I do (Clean out the inside).

Open my eyes so your love I will see (Cut out the eyes).

I’m sorry for the times I’ve turned up my nose at what you’ve given me (Cut out the nose).

Open my ears so your Word I will hear (Cut out the ears).

Open my mouth to tell others you’re near (Cut out the mouth).

Let your light shine in all I say and do! (Place a candle inside and light it).

Amen.

Unfortunately, I don’t remember the title of the magazine where I found this prayer.  If you know who wrote it, please let me know and I’ll gladly give credit.

Leave a Reply

BLOG

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Tools for Kids Church - Ideas

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

The Ministry Mama

Living as a Ministry Wife and Mama

MINISTRY-TO-CHILDREN

Free help for your children's ministry

Whats in the Bible

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

samluce.com

Leadership, Family Ministry, and Theology.

Kidmin360

Helping Churches Create Healthy Children's Ministry

[Kid Inspiration]

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Matt McKee

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

