When One Teaches, Two Learn

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Prayer Walls

on November 2, 2012

Wednesday was our annual Harvest Bash here at church.  It was a fabulous time for everyone!  We had a free soup dinner, games, prizes, candy, door prizes, homemade apple cider, donuts, cotton candy, popcorn, pizza, live music…I think you’re getting the idea. Needless to say, pulling off an event of that size is quite the undertaking.  We had a huge effort from the congregation, but I think the staff was still pretty wiped out.  As we were cleaning up, I found myself just tossing things in my office, figuring that I would clean it all up when I wasn’t quite so tired.  However, after a much needed day off yesterday and a busy morning/early afternoon today, I found myself regretting my lack of effort in putting things away!  I had a lot to accomplish for Sunday and was feeling crunched for time.  As I hurriedly distributed materials to each of the classrooms for J.A.M. Time this Sunday, for some reason the prayer wall in the green group’s room caught my eye.  The pre-kindergarten and kindergarten kiddos make up the green group and I was so struck by the innocence of their prayer requests.  I realized that it had been a while since I had taken the time to read what was on our kids’ hearts.

Take a peek:

 

Our pre-kindergarten and kindergarten kids are praying for one of the students who will soon be a big sister, a friend who just moved away, a cut finger, and that they would grow faster in God’s love.  It is so precious to see the things that excite and concern these little ones, not to mention their desire to grow in God’s love!

 

You can see maturity growing in the things that concern our first, second, and third grade students.  Their requests  range from new puppies at home to family members’ health and well-being.

 

Our fourth, fifth, and sixth graders are also praying about quite a bit.  It is great to see their willingness to share with each other and lift up the things that are on each others’ hearts, both big and small.

Reading the prayer walls reminded me that it’s not really about supply caddies and lesson plans.  It’s about these kids, so unique in their gifts and developmental levels, and what is on their hearts.  It’s worth my time to take a few minutes to pray over their prayer requests too.

Leave a Reply

BLOG

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Tools for Kids Church - Ideas

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

The Ministry Mama

Living as a Ministry Wife and Mama

MINISTRY-TO-CHILDREN

Free help for your children's ministry

Whats in the Bible

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

samluce.com

Leadership, Family Ministry, and Theology.

Kidmin360

Helping Churches Create Healthy Children's Ministry

[Kid Inspiration]

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Matt McKee

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

