When One Teaches, Two Learn

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

The Opportunities God Drops In Our Laps

on January 22, 2013

When I first started to explore the world of children’s ministry, I found a plethora of bloggers out there who have  goldmines of information to share from their experiences and the wisdom God has given them.  I signed up for e-mail updates from several of them, which for several weeks made my husband shake his fists at the sky, wondering why our inbox was constantly flooded with emails – Sorry, Hon!  Anyway, one of the blogs I follow is written by Sam Luce.  He has a lot of great ideas to offer, but his post today was particularly meaningful to me.  In it he asks, “when God gives you influence, what are you going to say?”  His question is directed more toward the idea of using social media effectively,  but it had a slightly different meaning to me.

You see, when I saw Sam’s post this morning, I was in the middle of working on the second of five seminars that I’m going to be presenting next month at a children’s ministry training event at another church in western New York.  It was humbling to even be asked to lead such an event, but even more sobering was Sam’s question this morning.  God has given me the opportunity to influence an entire region of children’s ministry workers.  What am I going to say?  Training other leaders is about more than equipping them with some fun activities; it’s about helping them to become more effective in reaching the little souls that God has placed in their lives.  It’s a challenge, but a worthy one.

So, my point is twofold.  First, would you join me in praying for this training event?  I’m thrilled to have the opportunity and am excited about what I feel God has asked me to share, but James 3:1 is clear that teachers will be judged more strictly because of their position of influence, so this isn’t a task I take lightly.  Second, I want to echo Sam’s question and challenge you:  When God gives you influence, what are you going to say?

Happy Tuesday, everyone.  And stay warm!

Leave a Reply

BLOG

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Tools for Kids Church - Ideas

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

The Ministry Mama

Living as a Ministry Wife and Mama

MINISTRY-TO-CHILDREN

Free help for your children's ministry

Whats in the Bible

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

samluce.com

Leadership, Family Ministry, and Theology.

Kidmin360

Helping Churches Create Healthy Children's Ministry

[Kid Inspiration]

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Matt McKee

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

