When One Teaches, Two Learn

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Toddler Lesson – “O” is for Obey

on March 6, 2013

Last Sunday, we started a new Sunday School class for our 3s and 4s.  They’ve been doing famously!  Last week was more of a setting-the-routine week, so this Sunday was our first actual lesson.  We’re going to be spending the next several weeks talking about our family relationships.  Naturally, this first week was about our relationship with our parents and that we obey God by obeying our parents.  This lesson was only designed to take about 20 minutes, so if you need to fill a longer time-span, be sure to plan accordingly.

Goal: Today we will learn that one way we obey God is by obeying our parents.

Key Scripture:  ”Children, obey your parents in the Lord for this is right.”– Ephesians 6:1

Here’s What You’ll Need:

  • Mats
  • Stickers
  • Mouse puppet
  • 6 copies of “O is for Obey” coloring page
  • Crayons
  • Snack
  • Dixie cups
  • Foam ball

Circle Time:  Have everyone find a mat and sit in the circle on the foam tiles.  Sing the welcome song, “I’m Glad I Came to Church.”

I’m glad I came to church; I’m glad I came to church!

With all the other boys and girls, I’m glad I came to church!

(Name) came to church; (Name) came to church

I’m so happy (Name’s) here, I’m glad (he/she) came to church!

(To the tune of “A Hunting We Will Go”)

Add stickers to attendance charts, then return to the circle.

Lesson: Perform the following brief puppet skit using a mouse puppet.  Below is a picture of ours 🙂

Squeaker

Me:  I’d like to introduce you to a friend of mine.  His name is Squeaker.

Squeaker:  Hi, everyone!

Me:  Squeaker was telling me earlier this morning that he’s been having a hard time with his mom and dad.  Why don’t you tell us about it?

Squeaker:  Well, I wanted to go out sledding yesterday, but my mom and dad said that I needed to take a nap.  I was mad at them because I wasn’t even tired, but they were still making me take a nap.  I tried to sneak out of my room, but my parents caught me and made me go back to bed.

Me:  Well, Squeaker, your mom and dad know what is best for you.  If they ask you to take a nap, you need to obey them.

Squeaker: Obey?  What does it mean to obey?

Me:  Obeying our parents means listening and doing what they say.  You should obey your parents because that’s what God tells us to do!  In Ephesians 6:1, the Bible says, “Children, obey your parents in the Lord for this is right.”

Squeaker:  I guess I should obey my parents next time, even if it’s hard or if I don’t like it.

Me:  That’s right, Squeaker.  Let’s pray right now that God will help all of us to obey our parents.

Lead the children in a brief prayer.  Have everyone return mats to their pile, then have everyone sit at the table.

Table Time:  Distribute the “O is for Obey” coloring page and crayons (Download the PDF for the O is for Obey coloring page).  As the children color, talk about  ways that they can obey their parents.  When most have finished, give each child a snack.

Conclusion:  Have everyone find a mat and sit in the circle on the foam tiles.  Pass around a foam ball.  Whoever has the ball says one thing that they are thankful for.  Sing “I’m Glad I Came to Church” to close.

Designing lessons for this age-group is new for me.  What would you add to this lesson?  What might you take away?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

4 responses to “Toddler Lesson – “O” is for Obey

  1. KateKate says:

    I think this lesson is delightful, but I would include something that gives the children a little more movement – dancing on the spot or song actions can help focus a child who finds kinesthetic learning more beneficial than auditory or visual.

  2. Good point, Kate! This lesson was done during our J.A.M. Time (Sunday School). Our routine is to start off as a large group , then break into our small groups and this was one of our small group lessons. So, because the kids had just left large group time where we were singing and dancing, the little ones had gotten some of their wiggles out and were able to do well with a less active lesson. If you were to use this lesson on its own, though, I can certainly see the need for more movement! Thanks for your feedback!

  3. Teri says:

    I love it! Thanks

Leave a Reply

BLOG

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Tools for Kids Church - Ideas

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

The Ministry Mama

Living as a Ministry Wife and Mama

MINISTRY-TO-CHILDREN

Free help for your childrens ministry

Whats in the Bible

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

samluce.com

Leadership, Family Ministry, and Theology.

Kidmin360

Helping Churches Create Healthy Children's Ministry

[Kid Inspiration]

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Matt McKee

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

