When One Teaches, Two Learn

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Toddler Lesson: Getting Along With Our Family

on April 11, 2013

This week, our 3s and 4s class wrapped up our unit on family relationships.  So far, we’ve learned about obeying our parents, sharing Jesus with our families, and praying for our families.  It seems like a rather natural step to also talk about getting along with our families.  Remember, these toddler lessons are only designed to take about 20 minutes, so if you need to fill a longer time-span, be sure to plan accordingly.

Goal:  Today we will learn that we need to work out our differences with our families by sharing and showing them kindness.

Key Scripture:  “Love each other with genuine affection.” – Romans 12:10

Here’s What You’ll Need:

  • Mats
  • Stickers
  • Mouse puppet
  • Plastic bowling pins
  • Paper bees
  • Small ball
  • Brightly colored circles
  • Magnetic pictures of items kids might need to share

Circle Time:  Have everyone find a mat and sit in the circle on the foam tiles.  Sing the welcome song, “I’m Glad I Came to Church.”

I’m glad I came to church; I’m glad I came to church!

With all the other boys and girls, I’m glad I came to church!

(Name) came to church; (Name) came to church

I’m so happy (Name’s) here, I’m glad (he/she) came to church!

(To the tune of “A Hunting We Will Go”)

Add stickers to attendance charts, then return to the foam tile area.

Lesson:  Perform the following brief puppet skit using a mouse puppet.

Squeaker

Me:  How many of you remember our friend Squeaker?  Can you say, “Hello” to him? (Have the kids say, “Hi!”)

Squeaker:  Hi, everyone!

Me:  How are you doing, Squeaker?

Squeaker:  Well, I’m doing a lot better now than I was yesterday!

Me:  Oh, no!  What happened yesterday?

Squeaker:  Well, I was playing with my sister’s Legos.  I made this really cool spaceship and was pretending to fly through outer space, when all of a sudden my sister came in the room and wanted the Legos.  I told her that I was playing with them, but she wanted to play with them.  We started yelling at each other and I started to cry.

Me: What happened next, Squeaker?

Squeaker:  My mom heard us yelling and came into the room.  She reminded my sister and me that we need to treat each other kindly.  That means that we shouldn’t yell at each other when we disagree.  My mom also reminded us that we need to share with each other. That means that we should take turns.  I had a turn with the Legos, so I should let my sister have a turn, especially because they are her Legos.

Me:  Your mom is right, Squeaker.  We need to remember to be kind and share with each other.

Have everyone say, “Goodbye,” to Squeaker.

Game:  Play “Bee Kind Bowling” with the kids.  Ahead of time, prepare several plastic bowling pins, taping a picture of a bee to each.  Tell the kids that the bees remind us that God wants us to be kind, even when we disagree with others.  Give each child a turn rolling a small ball to knock down the pins.  After each roll have everyone say together, “Be kind!”

Bee Kind Bowling

Note:  The idea for this “bee” bowling game came from the Instant Bible Lessons for Preschoolers series.

Sharing Caterpillar:  Gather the children around the magnetic board.  Ahead of time, tape brightly colored circles onto the board, with a caterpillar head on one end.  Tell the kids that we are going to make a sharing caterpillar.  Show the kids some magnets you have prepared that feature pictures of things they might need to share.  As you talk about each one, add one to each circle.  Afterward, have the kids give examples of other things they might need to share.  Write their suggestions onto the remaining squares. Note:  This is also adapted from the Instant Bible Lessons for Preschoolers series.

Conclusion:  Have everyone find a mat and sit in the circle on the foam tiles.  For prayer time, pass around a foam ball.  Whoever has the ball should say one thing that they are thankful for.

Sing “I’m Glad I Came to Church” to close.

Leave a Reply

BLOG

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Tools for Kids Church - Ideas

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

The Ministry Mama

Living as a Ministry Wife and Mama

MINISTRY-TO-CHILDREN

Free help for your childrens ministry

Whats in the Bible

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

samluce.com

Leadership, Family Ministry, and Theology.

Kidmin360

Helping Churches Create Healthy Children's Ministry

[Kid Inspiration]

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

Matt McKee

Figuring out children's ministry one day at a time

